Defaced by Marissa Farrar

Defaced

Happy Release Day Marissa Farrar!

Defaced

The Monster Trilogy Book 1

 

*I received an ARC  of this novel in exchange for this honest review.*

 

Synopsis

Monster: Hidden away from society by his criminal father, there lives a man who has never entered the outside world. Now, having taken over his father’s business, he has all the money and power he could dream of, yet still he refuses to let himself be viewed by the rest of society.

Lily: Traumatized by an event in her past, Lily Drayton has a phobia of being touched. Though she helps people externally with her skills as a laser therapist, she refuses to let anyone in, emotionally or physically. When Lily is kidnapped on the way home from work one evening, she discovers she’s not the only person who keeps themselves cut off from the rest of the world.

Defaced: A man owns her now–a man both dangerous and enigmatic. Drawn by his dual beauty and hidden pain, he awakens something inside her, something she believed was long dead. Brought to a room without windows, she’s given an impossible task: to make her owner acceptable to the outside world.

Can altering his face change who he is as a man, or is he truly a monster, both inside and out?

Review

This is a Dark Romance Novel and therefore isn’t meant for the faint of heart. I haven’t read many dark romance novels myself. The first one I read was the ever popular Fifty Shades of Grey which I wasn’t overly impressed with, and then I read Tears of Tess by Pepper Winters. This one is more along the lines of Tears of Tess. 

This is the first novel I’ve read from this author and I really enjoyed the story that Marissa Farrar told in this novel, I enjoyed the characters that she introduced me to. They were portrayed very well. I felt like I knew them all.

My heart ached for Monster and for Lily.

Monster because of the life he was forced to lead. He was held captive by his own father all of his life. His mother wasn’t present, though that is explained in the story, and he’s literally a prisoner in his own home. All he knows is what his father has taught him. He sees himself as, well, a monster. He thinks that he should never be seen by others because of the mentality that his father forced upon him.

Lily, well, because she’s kidnapped, beaten, made to urinate in her clothes, and held against her will! Who’s heart wouldn’t ache for her? She’s also damaged by her past. She has kept everyone at a distance for the past ten years and leads a very lonely, boring life.

I was very happy with the way the book shaped up. I can’t wait for the next installment of Monster and Lily’s story!

Ratings System 4 glasses

 

4 thoughts on “Defaced by Marissa Farrar

    1. You are so very welcome Marissa! You deserved it! I can’t wait for more of Monster and Lily’s story! Thank you so much for allowing me the opportunity to read/review the story for you. I hope you will consider me for a review copy again when the next book is ready!

      Like

Leave a Reply

